Rwanda recovers to dim Kenya at Victoria series

Rwanda Women sounded off to the East African Cricket Community this evening at the Lugogo Cricket Oval, further dimming Kenya’s hopes of avoiding the wooden spoon as they hammered them home by 47 runs.

Electing to bat in the rain affected match, Rwanda wasted no time in converting their errors against Uganda, racing to 88 runs in the allotted 14 overs.

Sarah Uwera (19) and Clarisse Umutoniwase (23) piled up the runs at the top for Rwanda, the latter surviving four dropped chances before her stumps were finally upended by Esther Wachira in the 8th over. However, Henriette Ishimwe picked up the score at 1/44, finishing unbeaten on 26 runs off 18 balls. 

Wachira was the only redeeming factor in Kenya's innings, bagging 3/17 off her three overs.

In reply, Rwanda piled on the wickets to wrap up their East African counterparts in with five balls to spare, skipper Sharon Juma (13) being the only batter to manage double digits. 

Rosine Uwera and Henriette Ishimwe were the pick of the bowlers for Rwanda with two wickets - a - piece.

Kenya takes on red - hot Tanzania Women who are bubbling after their 7-wicket win over the U.A.E at 9:30 am, tomorrow at the same venue.


Kenya loses Victoria series opener

The Kenya Women’s Cricket team bowled off the Victoria Series on a sour note, losing their opening fixture by 13 runs against U.A.E Women at the Lugogo Cricket Oval this morning. 

Electing to bowl, Kenya were quick to rack up UAE’s top order but a couple of missed chances meant that Avanee Patil and Geethika Jyothis added 18 runs to a wagging tail to drag the score to 8/82 with a ball to go.

Skipper Chaya Mughal led from the top of the order with a 21-ball 24, four boundaries therein despite wickets falling around her. Lavenda Idambo opened the account for Kenya with Lavanya Keny and K. Sharma falling for 8 and nought, respectively just four balls apart inside the power play.

The skipper’s departure instituted a dominoe effect, causing the Emirates Women to fall as a pack as they lost 4/16 to find themselves at 6/54 in the 13th over.

Idambo finished on 2/18 with Daisy Njoroge also bagging 2/21 off her entire allotment.

Needing 85 to win, Kenya were off to a great start, going par to par with the required run rate until the fifth over when they lost skipper Sharon Juma in the fifth over for 10 off 9 balls with the scoreboard on 2/19. Kenya then lost 4/14 including the settled Monicah Ndhambi on 11, having gobbled up 22 runs in her seven - over stay at the wicket.

Venasa Ooko struggled and never recovered, having required twelve balls just to get off the mark and finishing on 15 off 28 balls despite sticking in up to the 17th over. With the sore on 7/59 when she departed, only 12 runs were added to the total, with debutant Marion Juma accounting for 11 of them.

Induja Nandakumar was the pick of the bowlers for the Emirates Women with 2/12 off her entire allotment while Keny bagged 2/3 off 2 overs.

Kenya take on Rwanda, who lost to Uganda by 7 wickets in the second match of the day tomorrow afternoon in their second match of the series at the same venue.




Victoria Series Preview: Kenya vs UAE

The Kenya Women’s Cricket team bow off the Victoria Series against the U.A.E with three iT20 debutants. Ann Wanjira, Marion Juma and Lynz Wanjira will all be looking to squeeze into the bowling line up as Kenya take to the field on a wet morning due to overnight rain.

Despite having four debutants in the team, Skipper Sharon Juma is confident of her troops making an impact and will be looking to tackle one game at a time.

This is Kenya’s second appearance at the tournament having lucked out in favour of Uganda in the 2019 inaugural edition.

Playing XI

  1. Monicah Ndhambi – (RH/Bat)
  2. Daisy Njoroge – (RH Bat)
  3. Sharon Juma (C/WK/ RH/Bat)
  4. Venasa Aoko – (RH/Bat)
  5. Esther Wangare (V.C) – (RH/Bat/Off spin)
  6. Lavendah Alivitsa – (RH/Bowl)
  7. Ann Wanjira - (RH/Bowl)
  8. Marion Juma – (RH/Bowl)
  9. Kelvia Ogola - (RH/Bowl)
  10. Flavia Atieno – (RH/Bowl)
  11. Lynz Nabwire – (RH/Bowler)
  12. Mercy Ahono - (RH/Bat)
  13. Faith Mwende - (LH/Bat)
  14. Charity Muthoni - (RH/WK)